Super Moderator
    SUPER MOD

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    4,065 Posts
    Rep Points

Best Ways to Discontinue Alcohol use...

Question. This is def not an expertise of mine. I'm wanting to help some of my clients eliminate Alcohol from their daily intake.

I have no experience in Alcohol or Drug counseling, or for that matter being in AA or counseled myself, so it's something I think I would like to learn some tips from

I am sure someone or several people here have struggled with this. What are some tips or techniques you guys have found useful to eliminate alcohol from your daily intake? I don't want these guys just to cut back, I'd prefer them to come off completely.

I know from experience,I have had so many clients over the years who drink moderately or excessively and I can tell you that even the moderate drinkers, there conditioning and results in the weight room are never ever close to someone who refrains from drinking.

I realize this may be easier said then done, but let's hear what worked for you. Are there products you have used to come off?

Thanks to everyone in advance.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    5,067 Posts
    Rep Points

Keep yourself busy.

avoid triggers.

attend AA.

Forge a relationship with God.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    888 Posts
    Rep Points

I drank for 40 years (age 13 to age 53). The last 20, quite heavily. In my case, I just couldn't keep going with it, it obviously became a 5-6 day a week problem.
    Tried cold turkey, ended up in ambulance ride to hospital (heart rate took off - dangerous levels) spent the night.
    After that, did a one-week taper to be able to still function.

After that it was quite easy because I knew I had to, and even better I WANTED to. I dont know of any helpful supps, but they do have Rx stuff for the problem drinker.