• 👋Hello, please SIGN-UP FOR A FREE account and become a member of our community!
    You will then be able to start threads, post comments and send messages to other members. Thanks!
  • 💪Check Out IronMag Labs Andro Hard® - Powered by R-Andro & Epi-Andro! 💊
  • 👉Check Out Platinum Pharms🌽Corn Hole Sale!🌽

Push/Pull split vs. one muscle group per day. Which do you guys find more effective?

Tall Deck

Registered
Reaction score
Get Shredded!
How many of you guys train one body part per day. I was about to to start training again after a lay off, and my plan was the usual push movements one day, pull movements another day, and then legs on the third day, training each muscle group twice per week. I work with a guy who's been trying to talk me into training like he does, which is one muscle group per day, and hitting each body part only once per week. I've never tried that before. Do any of you guys make better gains by training one muscle group per day like that.

It's obvious to me that training one muscle group offers the advantage of subjecting each body part to greater volume from more sets, more exercises. But is once a week per muscle group enough frequency to make gains?

Strength adaptations can decline in as little time as 72hrs so you are wise to train 2x a week if you want maximum strength/size. Good luck.

Depends on my goals. Examples below.

During a cut I use light to moderate weight with rep ranges between 12 - 20. Push, pull, legs, push, pull, leg, off. Cardio everyday.

During a bulk I go heavy with rep ranges between 4 - 8. Chest, back, rest, legs, shoulders/triceps/traps, biceps/forearms/abs, rest. No cardio.

The answer is what works best for you and your current goals.