• 👋Hello, please SIGN-UP FOR A FREE account and become a member of our community!
    You will then be able to start threads, post comments and send messages to other members. Thanks!
  • 💪IronMag Labs® 30% Off Easter Sale👉www.ironmaglabs.com Coupon code: EASTER30🐰

The One-Set Challenge - 6 Critical Steps to More Muscle

Arnold

Numero Uno
Staff member
Administrator
Reaction score
Get Shredded!
The One-Set Challenge - 6 Critical Steps to More Muscle

3 Minutes of Pain and Enlightenment
Ever have a huge transformational experience in the gym? I have. In fact, I had one just a few weeks ago. I'd like to share it with you in the hopes that you'll benefit from it as much as I did. Here's what happened:

I wanted to get a quad workout in, but my time was severely limited – I literally had only 15 minutes. As a busy coach, I'd been working on my ability and willingness to get quick workouts in during the occasional 20-30 minute breaks I have between clients.

Squats were out of the question – too many warm-up sets. I decided upon the Cybex leg press instead. To eliminate warm-ups of any kind, I opted for a load that would take me close to failure somewhere between 15-20 reps, rather than my habitual 8-10.

And finally, to make the single set I was planning to do maximally effective, I surgically optimized my technique to produce as much quad fatigue as quickly as possible. As I settled into the machine, I steeled my will for what was about to come.

As I initiated the set, I focused on making each rep as difficult as possible, using tactics I'll describe shortly. Despite this, upon reaching the eighth rep or so, I was still feeling relatively strong. "Sheesh, how many more reps am I going to need to do?" I wondered.