• 👋Hello, please SIGN-UP FOR A FREE account and become a member of our community!
    You will then be able to start threads, post comments and send messages to other members. Thanks!
  • 💪Check Out IronMag Labs Andro Hard® - Powered by R-Andro & Epi-Andro! 💊
  • 👉Check Out Platinum Pharms🌽Corn Hole Sale!🌽

Buchner Funnel Filtering To Slow

mastiff

Registered
Reaction score
Get Shredded!
So I have been brewing for a few years now. Started with syringe filters back in the day and last couple years use bottle tops with glass media bottles. I decided to spend a little extra cash and get a porcelain 90mm Buchner funnel (I have another Buchner on the way with a pore plate but this one is the standard used with a rubber seal), .22 90mm nylon filter membrane, and 1L bottle. I gave it a dry run with just oil and heated the oil to 150F.

My questions is that even at 20psi it basically drips excessively slow. There is no vacuum leak as the guage held at 20 for 15 minutes all while filtering maybe 100mL at best. Is this normal? Even with bottle tops I can do 500mL in about 10 minutes.

I can't imagine the rate increasing much by adding the solvents even at 2/20 that doesn't seem to thin out the oil enough. Maybe I am expecting to much but I felt that it would filter at least as fast as the bottle tops given that I can set the vacuum higher with these.

Any thoughts from guys running Buchner setups?

If the one your using now doesn't have a poreplate then what is it? Steel screen?

If the one your using now doesn't have a poreplate then what is it? Steel screen?

It's just the "standard" porcelain funnel with holes drilled at the top. the 90mm filter disk fits perfectly on top and then a rubber washer on it to seal at the top of the receiver flask. The first pic is what I used and the 2nd is on the way.

- - - Updated - - -

Sorry first pic is on the way and second is what I used.

Attachments

• Buchner.jpg
    Buchner.jpg
    73.9 KB · Views: 43
  • Buchner2.jpg