• 👋Hello, please SIGN-UP FOR A FREE account and become a member of our community!
    You will then be able to start threads, post comments and send messages to other members. Thanks!
  • 🩺Muscle Gelz® HUMANOGEN® - Powered by Ibutamoren® Increases Growth Hormone! (Transdermal - No Injecting!)🏥

Squats, belts, and core strength

JRotten

Old
Board Rep
Reaction score
Get Shredded!
So like a lot of people when I started training again I wanted to move bigger weights faster. When I started squatting the first thing I did was get a belt and follow starting strength. Pretty quick I was squatting 285x5 and 6 months ago I got up to 365 for a single and 225x20. Well I wound up with two nagging low back injuries. 6 months of limited leg work because I hate machines and I have lost a lot is strength in my squat. How much is hard to gage because I'm not going heavy and I'm refusing to use a belt. Which brings me to my question:

Do you think it's possible to "belt cripple" yourself by going to the belt to fast? My lower back is the first thing to get worn out and at first I thought it was a form issue, but I filmed myself, ran it by some people and I seem to keep a nice neutral spine all the way through. I'm starting over onnsquats. I'm working my way back to my old GVT routine by adding a set a week. When I get there I'm jumping to 225x8x4 and then I'll follow another progression. All with no belt. Does this make sense to anyone else? My goal is to not be using a belt until I'm repping over 315 again all for the sake of AVOIDING any more low back injuries.

Open for opinions and broscience. TIA

I do squats.. I dislike them but I do them... I feel high reps hurt me.. I did 225x20 and had nagging lower back. Pain for a long time... I'll never do it again... That's purely my experience.. I don't use a belt that light but I will strap up not far after that