PDA

View Full Version : Substitute for squats and deadlifts

JRotten
03-18-2015, 03:05 PM
Bottom line is I can't squat or deadlift for awhile. I have some serious flexibility and mobility issues that are aggravating a pinched nerve I have to sort out. Hopefully it's just a few weeks. In the meantime I was thinking walking lunges with a barbell and leg press would be good for legs. I generally hate leg machines outside of the leg press. Thoughts?

What about deadlifts? I think I can get by with back extensions but I'm not sure about weighted. I've been screwing around with this for two months and I really don't want to lose any more on these lifts and body parts.

TIA

Big Ronnie
03-18-2015, 03:11 PM
Do you have a gym near you that has a super squat machine. It helps immensely with taking the pressure off joints. It lets you lift in a controlled manner and work the larger muscles, but the stabilizer muscles do suffer a bit. It may be worth checking out.

Jack Link
03-18-2015, 04:06 PM
I'm sure walking lunges and leg press will blast the fuck out of your legs as for deads it's going to be hard to overload your lower back with that injury................walking lunges are going to be tough too.

l69lou
03-18-2015, 04:15 PM