• 👋Hello, please SIGN-UP FOR A FREE account and become a member of our community!
    You will then be able to start threads, post comments and send messages to other members. Thanks!
  • 💪Check Out IronMag Labs Andro Hard® - Powered by R-Andro & Epi-Andro! 💊
  • 👉Check Out Platinum Pharms🌽Corn Hole Sale!🌽

New to Deadlifts

SoCalJC

Registered
Reaction score
Get Shredded!
I've always avoided DL for a couple of reasons. Afraid of screwing up my back.....didn't quite know how to do them correctly......and I read somewhere that Phil Heath didn't DL, so why should I? lol

Anyway recently I've been trying to incorporate new lifts into my routine. I was doing back this week and a buddy of mine was doing deads. I talked to him for a min, asked him for some pointers, and he gladly coached me for a couple of sets. Really helped because I've never done them before. So I did 4 sets with good form with light weight (135).

Today was back day again. Did DL but went a bit heavier, 235. Nothing super heavy as I'm still learning technique and form. I think I did a total of 6 sets including warmup set. 135 x 4, 185 x 1, 235 x 1. After that I was toast. Tried to do bent over rows and 135 felt heavier than normal. Pretty much deads took so much outta me that I was spent, couldn't do much after that.

My question is this: Do you guys do DL on back day or leg day?

I do it on back day. Usually i do dead lifts, then alternate between pulls and rows.
I train more like a powerlifter than a bodybuilder though.

All my work outs start with a heavy compound, then accessory excersizes

Like for back i would do
Deads
Pulldown/pull ups
T bar row
Lat flys
Cable row
Chins
Wide cable row

Working to 5x5 on deads
And 3-4x10 on everything else

Thanks Joe.

That looks like a great workout.